Suggest to improve Interpreter Services


Launched the first Subtitles! Thank god!

 

 

~ by Tar2006 on November 12, 2007.

5 Responses to “Suggest to improve Interpreter Services”

  1. A CART system would cure a lot of the problems our sweet Barbi had with interpreting. Most doctors have computer systems in each of their examination rooms so why not install a simple CART system on them?

  2. Hi Tar. It s nice to provide a subtitle on your video. Can I be forward with you? I strongly suggest that you have someone to help you with your subtitle because I saw some errors on your grammars, spellings, and writing structures. I am not a writing expert myself. I do have flaws.

    When I write a story before it is being published, I tend to double-check it for any errors. Also I usually type common sentences or phrases on Google or Yahoo search to see any similar writing styles or samples. If I see many same samples then I know my writing is ok. If I see that mine is different then I believe that mine is likely incorrect. I would chose the most common styles or samples from the search. For example, check on Google for “I have an new idea”, and you might see more “I have a new idea” instead. But samples are not always correct in some search engines.

    I just wanted to share my thought with you. Keep up with your vlogs/blogs. I am no better.

  3. I gotta hand it to him hes as good as a cheerleader for Kappa Gamma.

  4. I disagree. If a deaf psychologist is trying to work with a hearing client, the psychologist has the training and expertise to explain it in the right terms for the client. For example, if the client was young, or had a specific disability, the psychologist has that information and can explain it in terms that match the clients’ level of understanding. Many interpreters do not even have a college education, so I wouldn’t trust them to explain that information in a sensitive situation.

  5. As an interpreter, I often find that that kind of advocacy and direction on how to use the interpreter is best coming from the Deaf person. I have told hearing people thousands of times “Please speak directly to the Deaf person, you don’t have to say ask him/her” but many hearing people just don’t get it. When the Deaf person looks them in the face and signs that same information, while the interpreter voices it, it seems to be more powerful than when the interpreter says it. I think that too much direction and instruction from the interpreter can be confusing for hearing people. First they are hearing the interpreter talk and give an explanation, then they are supposed to ignore the interpreter and treat her like a ghost? That seems to throw them off.

Leave a Reply

 
