Tar’s Controversy: ” Heaf ”

~ by Tar2006 on May 15, 2011.

3 Responses to “Tar’s Controversy: ” Heaf ””

  1. I think is a really cool idea! I am going to school to become an interpreter, and I always wondered if there would be a term used to identify/represent people who support the Deaf World, the Deaf Community, and Deaf Culture. Is this something you spent a lot of time thinking about, or did you just think of it one day? Maybe one day their will be a sign used for “Heaf!”

  2. I agree, this is really awesome. I have talked to many people who feel like the Deaf world is almost like a club that you can’t really be in unless your Deaf or Coda. But what about us who are hearing truly support the Deaf community? I realize I will never know what is like to live in the Deaf world but it would be nice to have a term to associate myself with in the Deaf community, as a posed to just a supporter of the community with Deaf friends. Hope that Heaf can become a used and accepted term!

  3. I too like the concept of “Heaf.” I feel like no matter how hard I try, I will always be a hearing person trying to fit into the Deaf world. I think it would be great to have a term to identify myself and others like me who truly support the Deaf community and its culture. I wonder, though, if the Deaf community would appreciate this idea or shut it down. Is it too much to give a name to this in between culture after the Deaf community has kept from assimilating to the hearinf world for so many years?

Leave a Reply

 
